Skip to content
June 9, 2009 / Indigo

How To Turn That Frown Upside-Down

nadia sad face

We’ve all had our bad days, weeks, moments. Whether it be a bad break-up, a loss of a friend, losing your job, or just feeling melancholy. For the past five days, I’ve been going through a roller coaster tangle of emotions. One of the most amazing girls  I’ve ever known broke my heart. These are a few things that have been incredibly helpful in working through my sadness & feeling happy again.

– Being sad. By crying when I feel the urge to, it helps to alleviate some of the sadness I feel. By not avoiding how I feel I can fully understand & work through my sadness.

– Deciding to be happy. I understand that these two are a tad contradictory, but they’re both incredibly helpful. When I decided that I was done moping around & wanted to feel better, I changed my attitude. By simply changing my thoughts, I was able to convert my negative energy into more positive energy.

– Watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Buffy is one of my guilty pleasures. I’m working through my third round of watching all seven seasons. Something about fighting evil, highschool life & soap opera-worthy romances just does it for me. I’ve been power-watching since she broke up with me & fighting all of the battles in my head has helped to alleviate the pain in my own life.

– Being social. By going places & doing things with my friends & parents, it forces me to get up, get dressed, take my mind off things & have a good time. By having late-night picnics, smashing watermelons, taking annual pictures of my guy friends cross-dressing for a prize, watching amazing & horrible movies, etc. I have been able to smile, laugh & remember the good things in life.

– Writing. Writing down how we feel is perhaps one of the most powerful tools a person can weild. By physically committing to paper my emotions & the crazy side quests they make in my mind, it allows me to alleviate the burden of having them solely in my head & I can then go back in a day or so & re-read them. It allows me to go through my emotions a second time more logically.

– Baking. I’ve always been a fan of baking & lately I’ve been filling our house with cookies, peanut butter cups, cakes, cupcakes & more. By letting myself go into the process of creating something tangible, I remember how much I love the small things. I feel naturally rewarded when I see everything I’ve created by hand & I continue to create because it makes my heart swell.

– Blasting music. Music is a huge part of my life & lately I’ve been listening to it more so than usual. My favorite artists right now that are flowing major positive energy into my head are Atmosphere, the Mountain Goats, the Beatles, Passion Pit, Miyavi, Cinema Bizarre & the Gazette.

These are some of my personal ways for creating happiness in myself. They’ve been my major arsenal these past few days & have helped me turn a lot of my sadness & anger & confusion into constructive positive energy.

love & magic

indigo

Leave a Reply

